The Neo-baroque chapel of St John Sarkander is a two-storeyed building crowned with a dome with a lantern opening. In the middle of the chapel, there is a circular opening into the basement, where a torture rack from Sarkander’s time has been situated. The interior of the chapel is impressively illuminated. Daylight from the lantern opening penetrates through the circular hole in the floor down to the basement.
The immediate surroundings of the chapel are one of the most picturesque corners of Olomouc. The adjoining double staircase is graced by a statue of St John of Nepomuk, in a corner niche there is a statue of St. Jan Sarkander.
In the past, the city prison where John Sarkander was interrogated and tortured to death in 1620 was located on the site of the Chapel. John Sarkander was accused by Protestants of having helped to arrange the invasion of the army of the Polish Catholic King into Moravia. However, he did not violate the Seal of Confession during the torture and was therefore canonized by Pope John Paul II. during his visit to Olomouc in 1995.
Summer season: Tue – Fri, tour starts at 9:00am